Arizona Hockey Talk Welcomes ASU Hockey

If you liked it then share it.

Arizona State Sun Devils

…….. Arizona Hockey Talk is pleased to add the Arizona State Sun Devils Hockey Team (ASU Hockey) to the “AHT Family” of teams we will be covering for hockey fans in the Phoenix area and the State of Arizona.  AHT would like to thank President and General Manager Ken Lind of ASU Hockey for his cooperation in making this happen.  We look forward to an exciting 2013-2014 season of ASU Hockey.

ASU Logo3History Of ASU Hockey

Hockey began as a sport at Arizona State in the early 80’s with ASU students gathering at Tower Ice Plaza in Central Phoenix to play pick up hockey amongst each other.  As collegiate club hockey evolved throughout the country, so did hockey at Arizona State.  By the late 80’s ASU was fielding a full-fledged Ice Hockey Team competing in Division II of the ACHA.

In 1993, General Manager Mike Hoffarth led the program to achieving ACHA Division I status propelling the Sun Devil Hockey Program into the national spotlight by qualifying for the ACHA Division I National Tournament just two years later in the 1995-96 season.  Then Head Coach, Gene Hammett would lead the program to three straight National Tournament appearances from 1995-1998.

ASU has qualified for 10 ACHA Division I National Tournaments since competing at the Division I level in the American Collegiate Hockey Association, and developed 12 ACHA Division I All-Americans.

Player Hall of Fame Inductees:

#19 Steve Hammett, Forward 1994-1998: Inducted 2009

#41 Greg Powers, Goaltender 1995-1999: Inducted 2009

#7 Adam Blossey, Defense 2001-2005: Inducted 2009

#3 Tony Bonacorso, Defense 2004-2008, Inducted 2010

#22 Ian Smith, Forward 1999-2003, Inducted 2010

Executive Hall of Fame Inductees

Gene Hammett, Head Coach 1992-2000: Inducted 2008

Mike Hoffarth, General Manager 1988-1999: Inducted 2008

Don Mullet, Donor: Inducted 2008

John Wold, Head Coach, GeneralManager, Oversight Comittee 2001-Present: Inducted 2009

Wayne Reid, Assistant Coach, Diector of Hockey Ops, Oversight Committee 1992-Present: Inducted 2009

National Tournament Appearances:

1995-96, 1996-97, 1997-98*, 2000-01*, 2003-2004, 2006-07, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2012-13 (Final Four) *qualified


 ASU Captain Colin Hekle

Colin HekleACHA Division I All-Americans

Steve Hammett, Forward: 1997-98

Greg Powers, Goaltender: 1996-97,1997-98,1998-99

Ian Smith, Forward: 2000-01,2001-02 (Team USA, World University Games 2002)

Nils Satterstom, Forward: 2000-01

Adam Blossey, Defense: 2003-04, 2004-05 (Team USA, World University Games 2005)

Tony Bonacorso, Defense: 2006-07, 2007-08 (Team USA, World University Games 2008)

Joe Schweiger, Forward: 2008-2009 (Eastern Michigan), 2009-10, 2010-11

Mark Schacker, Goaltender: 2010-11, 2011-12

Kale Dolinski, Forward: 2012-13

Colin Hekle, Forward: 2012-13

Ryan Clark, Defense: 2012-13

Joe D’Elia, Goaltender: 2012-13


If you liked it then share it.

Speak Your Mind


CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: